Eagle Magazine

April 17, 2007

Like many boys of my generation, I was an avid reader of Eagle magazine in the 1950’s ( and possibly into the 60’s though I don’t remember for sure). I seem to have survived its Christian ideals and remember it only as a good read. I certainly learned a lot of history – albeit the history of the pink bits on the map. I remember reading about Gordon of Khartoum, the conquest of Everest, and Stanley and Livingston. Almost everything I know about the French Foreign Legion and Field Marshall Montgomery comes from Eagle Magazine.

I also was fascinated by the ‘how things work’ cut-away illustrations of cars and boats and planes. The other feature I remember is something that didn’t seem remarkable at the time. Eagle magazine carried advertisements. I shouldn’t be surprised as this was an era when our school exercise books did too!

I recall that there were ads for the British Gas Council using the character Mr Therm, though I can’t imagine what value there was for the Gas Council in advertising to snotty pre-teenage boys. (thanks to Bear Alley for the information about Walkden Fisher who created Mr Therm)

Having been greatly amused by John Ryan‘s Captain Pugwash and Harris Tweed (amongst other cartoons in The Eagle), I was thrilled to discover many years later when we lived in London that our next door neighbour was the same John Ryan. John was (is) as charming and witty as his cartoons.

And yes I was a huge fan of Dan Dare Pilot of the Future. Probably the beginning of a lifelong interest in science fiction.

By the way, if you Google search Eagle Magazine you come up with the following magazine published 4 times a year in Eagle Idaho and available at Rembrandts Coffee House and Rocky Mountains Fitness. It doesn’t quite excite the same emotions.

2 Responses to “Eagle Magazine”


  1. […] Cyberslacker’s affectionate hymn to Eagle in the 1950’s speaks for me and about a million other kids of a certain vintage. And to many younger graphics mavens who understand the quality of the images, and their place in the history of comics. […]

  2. Kevin Brewer Says:

    I read it too, I loved it, and it was available into the 60s. I remember doing a secondary school project on a car, the Triumph herald, a cutaway of which had appeared in the Eagle. I think it was available up to 1964, when I left home for the army.


Leave a Reply

