Time recorded

July 6, 2007

When my first child was born, I had the good intention of recording her growth at regular intervals to produce a time-lapse record. As with many good intentions, it never happened. I may have begun the project but I don’t remember taking it very far. The idea of making the time to do it year after year was probably too hard to contemplate. You have to admire the dedication of those who have managed the task.

I haven’t been able to track down the film that I saw in the early 1970’s which inspired this idea, but there are several interesting videos around (though horrible music seems to be a feature!)

I particularly like JK’s effort which shows an intriguing change in his appearance over 8 years.

I also like this beard growth video

Interestingly though, I found Diego Golberg’s wonderful photo essay to be an even more interesting exercise. I found it quite moving to see his family develop as well as admiring the extraordinary dedication it must have taken to produce it. As is often the case, there is so much more power in the still image that allows you to look properly and consider what you are seeing.

One Response to “Time recorded”

  1. Davo Says:

    That’s a change? At this point, would be interested in seeing the follow-up versions ..30-40, 40-50, 50-60 .. heh.


Leave a Reply

