Surprise musical

May 24, 2008

There are plenty of examples of people doing musicals in odd places and surprising the unsuspecting public. The surprise to me with this one is that it is an advertisement for going to the theatre.

Yes I know it is for a ticket agency but that doesn’t change the fact that it is designed to encourage people, and I presume particularly young people, to go to the theatre.

I started to take myself off to see plays in my late teens and I don’t recall feeling that I was particularly young in relation to the rest of the audience. Perhaps the creation of new companies like La Mama and Nimrod and the emergence of new young playwrights in the late 60’s made theatre seem lively and relevant. For whatever reason, my friends and I frequently went to the theatre.

Now I often observe that it is my generation and older who are still going to the theatre and am surprised at how few sub 30 year olds are there. The Bureau of Statistics figures seem to back this up (though I can’t correlate the actual numbers with the percentages given in their tables), with the peak theatre audiences being found in the 45-54 year age group (not quite my generation but close!)

I hope that Lastminute.com’s advertisement is successful in getting more (young) people to the theatre, though I am sad to see that the Australian version of the website does not include theatre booking like its UK counterpart does.

One Response to “Surprise musical”

  1. Bek Says:

    Dear Cyberslacker
    You have been very slack!
    Don’t tell me you’ve got a real job…???!!!
    ha-ha-ha-ha
    Your number one fan


Leave a Reply

